Connect with us


NSFAS Confirms Funded University And TVET Courses



NSFAS Confirms Funded University And TVET Courses

NSFAS Confirms Funded University And TVET Courses. The National Student Financial Aid Scheme (NSFAS) plays a pivotal role in enabling thousands of South African students to pursue tertiary education by providing comprehensive funding. Here’s a detailed look at the courses NSFAS will fund for the academic year.

Understanding NSFAS Funding

NSFAS has announced the qualifications it will fund for students enrolled at universities and Technical and Vocational Education and Training (TVET) colleges. This funding encompasses a wide range of educational expenses, ensuring that students have access to the resources they need to succeed.

Courses Funded By NSFAS

University Degrees Funded

  • Higher Certificates or National Higher Certificates: These qualifications are on Level 5 of the National Qualifications Framework (NQF).
  • Undergraduate Degrees: This category includes Advanced Certificates, Diplomas (minimum 240 or 360 credits), National Diplomas, and National First Degrees (minimum 480 credits) on NQF Levels 6, 7, or 8. All qualifications must be accredited by the Council on Higher Education and registered with the institution listed as the originator on the NQF.

TVET College Qualifications Funded

  • Pre-Vocational Learning Programmes (PLPs): Although not on the NQF, NSFAS will fund students for one term.
  • National N Certificates (NATED/Report 191): Registered on the NQF, with funding provided for one term for introductory Report 191 courses.
  • National Certificates (NC(V)): These qualifications belong to the General and Further Education and Training Sub-Framework on the NQF, with the originator as Generic Provider – NCV.
  • Occupationally Approved Programmes: Must be approved for NSFAS funding by the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET).

Eligibility And Considerations

While many students meet the eligibility requirements for NSFAS funding, it’s crucial to note that only courses on the NSFAS funded list will receive comprehensive financial support. Students are advised to verify if their specific qualification is funded by NSFAS through their respective university or TVET college.


NSFAS continues to be a critical resource in ensuring equitable access to higher education for students across South Africa. By funding a diverse array of qualifications, NSFAS empowers students to pursue their academic goals without financial constraints. For further details on eligibility and criteria, students should refer to the 2024 NSFAS Eligibility and Criteria And Conditions For Financial Aid or contact their educational institution directly.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Must You Reapply For NSFAS When Transitioning From University To TVET College?



Must You Reapply For NSFAS When Transitioning From University To TVET College?

Must You Reapply For NSFAS When Transitioning From University To TVET College? The National Student Financial Aid Scheme (NSFAS) is a comprehensive financial aid program designed to assist students in pursuing higher education at public universities and TVET Colleges in South Africa. If you’re transferring from one type of institution to another, you might wonder about the implications for your NSFAS funding.

Transitioning From University to TVET College

Are you aiming for a rewarding career but find that traditional university education isn’t the right fit for you? NSFAS can help you realize your goals by providing funding for TVET Colleges. This support can turn your passion into reality by covering essential educational expenses.

What NSFAS Covers

NSFAS offers bursaries and loans to cover the costs of:

  • Tuition
  • Registration
  • Essential living expenses (accommodation, transportation, etc.)

Do You Need To Reapply for NSFAS?

If you are transitioning from a university to a TVET College, it is crucial to understand the NSFAS policy on reapplication. According to the NSFAS Eligibility Criteria and Conditions for Financial Aid:

“Students who change institution types (i.e., shift from TVET College to University or vice versa) must re-apply for funding”.

This means that if you are moving from a university to a TVET College, you will need to reapply for NSFAS funding. It’s also important to note that NSFAS only funds students pursuing their first certificate or undergraduate qualification.

How to Apply for NSFAS

Step 1: Create A MyNSFAS Account

  1. If you already have a myNSFAS account, click on ‘login’ at the myNSFAS portal and complete your information.
  2. If you don’t have a myNSFAS account, click on ‘Create account’ and follow the prompts to set up your account.

Step 2: Log Into Your myNSFAS Account

  1. Use your login details to access your myNSFAS account.

Step 3: Complete The Application

  1. Click on ‘Apply’.
  2. Answer the questions displayed on the screen.
  3. If necessary, upload any supporting documents (often, this step is not required).
  4. Click on ‘Submit’.

Step 4: Receive Your Application Reference Number

After submitting your application, you will receive an application reference number. Keep this number safe for future reference.

NSFAS Funding Eligibility

NSFAS provides funding to students from poor and working-class backgrounds who are studying towards a qualification at one of the 26 public universities or 50 TVET Colleges.


Transitioning from a university to a TVET College can be a significant step in your educational journey. While this move requires reapplying for NSFAS funding, the process is straightforward and ensures that you continue to receive the financial support needed to achieve your educational and career goals.

Continue Reading